8 Ways to Grow your Twitter Following

Follow me on twitter.

Twitter has become nothing less than a phenomenon. Last year Twitter passed the half a billion user mark. That is a lot of users. It is also a huge market. Though Twitter is a very unique and amazing tool for communication in general, it can also be a powerhouse of a social marketing platform. There is one key to making Twitter work for you: To be heard you need followers. I am not going to advise you to buy followers nor am I going to direct you to a tool that promises to do it for you. I am going to give you good Twitter best practices that you can grow on. Here are 8 ways to grow your Twitter following and get your voice heard.

Follow Others

Following others is a key to getting followed yourself. If you don’t follow them why should they follow you? It is all about community and relationship building. Who should you follow?

  • Follow your collaborators. Whether they are vendors, investors, or you name it, you should be following those that contribute to you or your business. It shows them appreciation, helps you keep tabs on their latest news, and are usually easy follow backs.
  • Your target market. Current customers and prospects are good choices to follow. Doing so will give you ear to their questions, interests, and what is on their mind.
  • Follow influencers. It is only wise to create connections with power players in your industry. Many will follow you back. Best of all, forming a relationship with them can possibly create a great connection that you may need in the future.
  • Follow experts. The reason is obvious: they know the industry and you can learn from their tweets, You can ask them questions. Get connected to those in the know.
  • Follow the competition. This one may not lead to a follow back but this is a great way to see what they are up to, what is working for them, and what isn’t. Their followers will also see your name in their list of followers.
  • Follow those that follow you. First of all it is only polite. Second, if you don’t, many of them will unfollow you. There are a couple exceptions to this rule. If they are an obvious spammer, bot, or would reflect in a negative way on your business then it might actually be wise to not follow them back.

The really cool thing about following others is that if they follow you back you will receive the following benefits:

  • Every post of yours that they retweet, favorite, or comment on will be seen by their followers.
  • The fact they you are following each other will be seen by their followers. This could lead to even more follows.

Post Regularly

Sticking with it and not overdoing it are the secrets here. I would say post between 3 and 5 times a day. Post much more and followers could become annoyed and unfollow you. Post less and you wont even be on the radar.

Be Active in TweetChat

TweetChat

A TweetChat is like a virtual meeting on any topic you can imagine. It is a very cool way to meet other tweeters, get your voice heard, and make new connections that could become potential  followers. Just go to TweetChat and follow the instructions to get started.

Be Interactive

I can make you one 100% safe guarantee. If all you do is post and follow you are going to have a hard time keeping your current followers or attracting new ones. Retweet, Favorite, and Reply the tweets of others. Interact with them. Don’t just throw ads in their face over and over again. Make it interesting and mix it up.

Tweet Content

Yes, content is king even in the twitterverse. If you aren’t writing something others find interesting, entertaining, useful, educational, or otherwise attention grabbing, they are not going to follow you and read your tweets. Good quality content on the other hand is the true way to win follows and influence tweeters.

Promote Your Twitter Account

The secret to doing this is simply to get the word out there. Here are some ideas, maybe you can think of more.

  • Tell your Facebook, Google+, and Linked in friends about your Twitter account.
  • Tell your real life friends and family.
  • Put a link to your Twitter profile in the signature of your email.
  • Put it on your business cards.
  • Put a link to your Twitter on your blog or website.
  • Wherever you can give it exposure without being a spammer, do so.

Use Direct Messages Wisely

One easy to lose a follower or potential follower is to spam their inbox. The Direct Message feature should be used to ask legitimate questions that you don’t want to ask in the open for everyone to read, or,  if you have a legitimate thing to say just between the two of you. It should never be used to spam people for follows or to buy your product.

Fill out your profile completely

If you don’t you wont get the follows. it is that simple. People won’t trust someone that doesn’t at least share basic information about who they are. The very basics?

  • Profile picture
  • Name
  • Bio information

As I said, these are the bare bone basics. The more information the better.

Follow these tips and have some patience. You will get followers.

What tips do you have to increase your following on Twitter?

Posted on January 25, 2013, in Social Media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over
    again. Anyhow, just wanted to say superb blog!

  2. My partner and I stumbled over here different website and thought I
    might check things out. I like what I see so now i am
    following you. Look forward to exploring your web page again.

  3. Great blog you have got here.. It’s hard to find high-quality writing like yours nowadays. I honestly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  4. My brother suggested I might like this web site.
    He was entirely right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  5. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  6. Everyone loves it when folks get together and share
    views. Great website, stick with it!

  7. Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard
    on. Any tips?

    • Harvey at Wired-In

      What kind of plugins? Would they be for your blog, social media, browser, etc? Let me know and I’d love to help.

  8. Pretty interesting website, will certainly visit you once more.
    I discovered the website while searching through ycl.
    eu targeted visitors tips, exactly where anyone can easily change data, likes, supporters,
    tweets etc.

  9. Hi there, I discovered your blog by way of Google whilst looking for a related matter, your web site
    came up, it appears great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, simply changed into alert to your blog
    thru Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for
    brussels. I’ll appreciate if you proceed this in future. Lots of folks can be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  10. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was totally right.
    This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  11. If you are going for most excellent contents like me, simply pay a quick visit this site every day since
    it offers quality contents, thanks

  12. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this article and also
    the rest of the website is also very good.

  13. My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I might check things
    out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to looking at
    your web page again.

  14. Very nice blog post. I definitely love this website.
    Keep it up!

  15. Excellent post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I’m inspired! Very helpful info specially the last part 🙂 I handle such information a lot. I was looking for this certain info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  16. Remarkable things here. I’m very satisfied to see your article. Thanks so much and I am having a look forward to touch you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  17. whoah this weblog is excellent i like reading your articles.

    Stay up the great work! You already know,
    many people are searching around for this information, you
    can help them greatly.

Leave a Reply

